Every dog has its day…

Well, Kasina is out and there’s a lucky bunch of people who will be receiving their’s any time now. It’s been a great adventure and I wish MindPlace every success. The Kasina is an outstanding device – the ultimate for the no-bounds explorer.

In the meantime, however, I decided to rearrange my “studio”. In the process one silly little irritation finally demanded attention. My old iPod has been in and out of the box-of-shame several times in its life with me. I mostly find such devices pretty much useless. At the moment the iPod is justifying its existence by being a bedside clock (my “studio” and my bed are very closely intertwined). Lying on its back, pick it up in a daze, find the little round button. I’ve had an iLightz (type 1) for ages now, reviewed it here somewhere, probably the device with which I was least impressed at the time. My main point with it was that if you weren’t much into iPod then it didn’t really have much going for it. It has an iPod connector and it provides charging and audio output for the iPod. That’s all I really required, but I had to have a quick look at the iLightz sessions. There’s some great stuff, and one huge benefit is that everything is accessible via a proper alphanumeric display. The ColorMatrix glasses provide crisp, bright visuals in a range of preset color combinations.

So, what devices are within arms reach today – Kasina, Procyon, MBM and iLightz1. David PAL CES and MindLights are the next two devices I am most likely to use (MindLights works incredibly well with MuLab, using 7.1 channel audio to drive sound + 2xRGB lights).

The bottom line is that there isn’t an AVS device that I have used that doesn’t have some meaningful points of difference. Even a device that had little appeal at one time can acquire new value at a later time.

For me the entire point of all of this is to explore my mind and, where appropriate, make such adjustments as can be made. After giving the mainstream theory of AVS/BWE a good go, and trying many therapeutic protocols on myself and others (with results that could be interpreted in various ways), I have come to see the greater value of AVS as not being in its therapeutic or formal self-help applications, but in the opportunities for independent exploration of the one realm in which we have total freedom – our minds. I have a lot of my best ideas during sessions that have no particular beat function.

I just love AVS for its own sake and every thing that beeps and flashes has the potential to unlock another sphere of knowing. I know how a whole bunch of it works, I’ve got a pretty good grip on the theory and applications, but, ya’ know what? I almost completely don’t care. Chances are that AVS won’t directly do the thing you think you want it for – sound justification of the purchase demands that you have a “purpose”. Chances are you only think you want or need the technique/therapy you’re intending. These “chances” lead to the distinct possibility of disappointment – and another AVS device consigned to the pit. Approached with an open mind (not mindlessly accepting) AVS will bring about changes, maybe not what you had in mind, maybe not at the pace you had hoped for, but almost certainly for the better.

Whatever hardware and/or software you may be using it’s worth investing a good deal of time in exposing your brain to complex stimuli – without regard for purpose.

Cheers,
Craig

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Sam  On December 3, 2013 at 12:26 pm

    Hey Craig, can Kasina be ordered yet, as far as I’ve seen there’s an order button on the mindplace website but not sure if the device is actually in stock.. can you maybe confirm or deny this as I would like to gift myself asap. 😀 Thanks!

  • leandro  On December 3, 2013 at 9:16 pm

    Hi nice post. I have order my kasina today I am vary happy. But I am just wondering if it will work with mind spa goggles? Mind spa avs has a goggles that you can use with your eay open. Thanks

    • CraigT  On December 4, 2013 at 9:54 am

      Hi Leandr,

      Thank you. You’ll be even happier when Kasina arrives 🙂

      As far as I know, no other glasses can be used with Kasina – it uses some very clever tricks to get 6 channels of light control into a very slim cable. There are several open-eye designs being considered, so it probably won’t be too far down the track before something is released.

      Cheers,
      Craig

  • Frank Vlassenbroeck  On December 4, 2013 at 8:42 pm

    I just ordered mine!!! Quick question: I know the Kasina can do a lot more, but can it also emulate what the pRoshi machine does?

    • CraigT  On December 4, 2013 at 10:37 pm

      Hi Frank,

      You will not be disappointed – the limit is your imagination and willingness to learn some software that has a bit of a (?) learning curve. There’s plenty of enthusiasts and vendor support personnel to help out as needed.

      Two answers…

      It can run sessions that have similar effect. There are some on the uSD that do – remembering that pRoshi is light-only.

      It can be emulated to the extent that pRoshi’s waveforms are known. This would require additional software such Mind WorkStation or MuLab.

      Due to the many ways to input audio, the tight integration with session development tools, the integrated synth (evolving) and the color organ, there is always likely to be a way to create useful A or V stimulus, and emulation of a sound or light protocol known in detail is unlikely to be a problem.

      Cheers,
      Craig

      • Frank Vlassenbroeck  On December 6, 2013 at 3:17 pm

        Great! Do you know if SpectraStrobe encodings will be used by other HW vendors? I mean Audiostrobe encodings are, and because of that more commercially available CD’s with Audiostrobe are on the market. Will this be the same with SpectraStrobe?

      • CraigT  On December 6, 2013 at 6:14 pm

        It’s a relatively open standard and is already supported by some of the best session creation tools there has ever been. I cannot possibly guess what any other hardware vendor might do.
        For myself, I will still write AudioStrobe when requested (the green channel is equivalent to ordinary AS), but I will always use a six-channel protocol where I can – MuLab is great for Kasina or MindLights control (MUX presets supplied with Kasina do not do Mindlights – a whole different light control strategy).
        Cheers,
        Craig

  • Anant  On December 6, 2013 at 12:39 pm

    Hello Craig,

    Just stumbled on your site and read all the postings in the Library section. I’m looking to get my first AVS machine. I was trying to find reviews you had on the site, but there is no “reviews” section. Could you give me some pointers please?

    Thanks,
    Anant

    • CraigT  On December 6, 2013 at 1:27 pm

      Hi,

      Thanks for your interest – just search by dwvice name (Procyon, Protest, Microbeat Mini, MindLights, etc. and you’ll find all sorts of relevant snippets. Most hardware is tagged Hardware, but I tend to be a bit slack with such things
      You will gather that Kasina is the big news of the moment – I haven’t done a formal review, but it is a stunningly capable piece of equipment.
      Cheers,
      Craig

      • Anant  On January 28, 2014 at 6:19 am

        Thanks a lot, Craig! I shall do that. Also, is there somewhere I can find a list of devices? I’m new to this whole thing you see 🙂

        Thanks,
        Anant

      • Anant  On January 28, 2014 at 6:42 am

        OK, duh. Just found the Links section. I trust you have all the major hardware and software players listed there. I’ll work through them. Thanks for all the info, Craig!

        Anant

      • CraigT  On January 28, 2014 at 8:59 am

        Hi Anant,

        All the vendors I care about are in the links. There’s a few others devices reviewed – Innerpulse and iLightz come to mind. I’ve become rather sloppy with tagging, but most reviews are in the Hardware category.

        I just noticed stinky spellchecker in my last reply – Protest is meant to be Proteus!

        Cheers,
        Craig

      • Anant  On January 28, 2014 at 11:35 am

        The Kasina looks like a winner in the little research I have done so far 🙂

        Anant

      • CraigT  On January 28, 2014 at 11:42 am

        That would be a very reasonable assessment!

        Cheers,
        Craig

  • neuroasis  On December 16, 2013 at 9:04 am

    Hey Craig,
    Excellent post. We seem to have come to many of the same conclusions after years of AVS use. The real value to a large measure lies in organic movements that inspire awe creating a hotbed for new ideas and breakthroughs.

    The old ‘brain beater’ sessions as I now tend to call them, seem positively stale and tortuous almost… but again, all stimuli can have a purpose, even if only to transcend it.

    Take care,
    Scotto

    • CraigT  On December 16, 2013 at 10:13 am

      Well said, and thank you.

      Cheers,
      Craig

Leave a Reply

