First Impressions – MicroBeatMini

It’s here! I’ve been waiting expectantly for a MicroBeatMini to arrive from Hong Kong. It arrived in a standard FedEx bag, the unit’s packaging well and truly robust enough to ship without need for extra protection.

The MBM is, as far as I’m aware, the first Audiostrobe decoder integrated into the light glasses. The unit looks a lot like some of the existing VR glasses – clever re-use of expensive injection dies?

Presentation is excellent – full colour box with each of the supplied items individually plastic bagged and the MBM itself in a partitioned section of the box. The bundle includes the MBM unit itself, a black rubber light shield, a pair of Koss headphones with inline volume control, a pair of in-ear headphones, a 3.5mm to micro USB cable (audio in), a standard USB to micro USB cable (charging), printed manual, a zip-up nylon pouch and an Audiostrobe sampler disk.

The MBM is a good looker! Matte silver, matching the Koss headphones, with black details. The LED arrays are mounted in deep reflectors.

The MBM uses a single micro USB connector for power/charging or audio. The only other connection to the unit is for the Koss headphones – a standard 3.5mm socket.

Controls are Volume (up/down), Brightness (steps through 6 levels) and Mode (steps through 10 possible configurations of the red, green and white LEDs (8 LEDs per side).

The MBM has an inbuilt rechargeable battery. Charging can take up to two hours from flat, but after only ten minutes or so there was sufficient charge to do a quick run through all the functions. It works – without the slightest hiccup. The MindWorkstation Audiostrobe configuration tool shows an excellent, smooth intensity range. A brief run of an Audiostrobe encoded MWS session reveals a very interesting range of possibilities with the colours (Modes) and the LED/reflector arrangement seems to contribute some visual imagery that I have not seen with other glasses.

The unit is comfortable and sits snugly whether sitting or lying. On me the light shield doesn’t quite work unless I press the sides in – apparently designed for a wider skull than mine.

Unless there is a need for some particular characteristic of a machine’s inbuilt sessions the MBM looks to be just the thing. To put that another way, if Audiostrobe is all that is required then the MBM delivers licensed Audiostrobe decoding in a single tangle-free package.

First impressions matter. In this case so favourable that, provided no appalling flaw emerges as I trial the unit more fully, the MicroBeatMini will be the device I use most often.

You’ll find the MBM here and here is the dowloadable manual (PDF).

Cheers,
Craig

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Anonymous  On August 27, 2011 at 10:53 am

    Hey, Craig–glad to see you’re back a bit! Interesting to see that this is being made by essentially a medical supply company, though the glasses are based upon ‘personal tv’ displays from 22moo http://www.22moo.com.au/. Wonder how long those built in batteries last, and $299 does seem kind of expensive…
    Cheers,
    Robert

  • Cris  On October 20, 2011 at 1:06 am

    Hi, Craig. I’m new to this field (of late) and have just read your review of the mbm and your follow-up review. In both reviews I was unable to figure out just what these glasses were supposed to do, or how they were better than its competitors, or if you did mention these things, it could be that I’m just tired, having just gotten back home from driving all night.

    The mbm seems a bit like the old Mind Gear PR-2X (except more advanced?) in that it appears to flash lights and make sound beats. I have the Mind Gear but don’t use it much because it doesn’t seem to do anything for me, regardless of what setting I use.

    I learned of your site today from mind-i (or is it mind-l?).

    Thank you.

    • CraigT  On October 20, 2011 at 2:33 pm

      Hi Cris,

      The mBm is an AudioStrobe decoder built into a set of red/green/white glasses. It is functionally equivalent to an L&S Synergizer with red/green glasses with the benefit of also having white and red/green/white mixes. An AudioStrobe decoder translates a 19.2kHz signal recorded in pre-encoded CDs and created with the likes of Neuroprogrammer or Mind Workstation into light control.

      The Mind Gear is a full “mind machine” in that it has built-in sessions that generate tones and light control.

      If you haven’t had any meaningful results from the Mind Gear it is probable that you won’t with any other similar device. The proviso here is that the results are often subtle and are dependent on a commitment to the quiet states required for the brain to let go of its own activities and entrain to the light/sound stimulus.

      Hope this helps.

      Cheers,
      Craig

  • Rodney  On November 6, 2011 at 4:13 am

    Hi Craig… I Emailed you but not sure that is still a valid Email so will ask my questions here”

    Hi.. I just found you review of the MicroBeatMin..

    I JUST came across the MicroBeatMin and wanted to find out more on it..

    So between the MicroBeatMin the Procyon and the Laxman, which one do you like overall???

    If you could just buy one unit, which one would it be???? Or would it be something other then one of these 3???

    Thanks!

    First Email to you:
    ———————————–

    Hi.. I am not sure if your still around and still into this but I came across post by you on the MindPlace Forum.. I hope your still around and into this….

    I am really interested in getting a Mind machine and really like the Laxman but also like the Procyon. Basically I am trying to figure out what is the best machine(Not just the goggles) to buy.. The Laxman sounds really cool but it seems like most use the Procyon with just the Laxman goggles(Is this because people already owned the Procyon and only needed the Laxman goggles or is the Procyon unit itself better then the Laxman unit?)… As the Procyon unit plus the Laxman Goggles cost about the same as the completed Laxman unit I am confused now on which way I should go… Purchasing the Procyon with just the Laxman goggles Or just getting the Complete Laxman system????

    Thanks for any input or advise you can give me..

    • CraigT  On November 7, 2011 at 7:42 am

      Hi Rodney,

      I’m often asked the “if I could only have one” question and I never quite answer. The point is that each has features that will appeal to a different type of user. If you mainly want to use pre-written sessions, now with much of the Audiostrobe library converted, the Laxman is a beautiful machine, excelling at eyes-open visuals. If you only want to use Audiostrobe with such programs as Neuroprogrammer then the mBm is the tidiest option. If you want inbuilt sessions plus incredible Audiostrobe flexibility then the Procyon is the answer.

      This said, eyes-open is more recreational than psychoactively effective – it looks great but it doesn’t really work for anything below beta. I’m not sure that the Procyon plus Laxman goggles option is still possible with the latest version of the Procyon – I haven’t checked but it seems the connector for the glasses has been changed. For use with an MP3 player the mBm requires only one cable while the Procyon requires two. The Procyon is the best if you want to lay with different types of stimulus – the internal synthesiser is incredible although the editor takes a bit of effort to understand.

      Hope this helps.

      Cheers,
      Craig

  • Rodney  On November 7, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    Thanks Craig for your time replying to me..

    I have decided to go with the mBm…

  • Rodney  On November 13, 2011 at 5:02 am

    Just got my MbM and tried it out last night… Really cool… I have never used one before so I cant compare but I really like it…

    Craig What are some of your fav Audiostrobes? The CD’s for sale.. or do you use any of these?(This is what I tried last night)

    Do you like the ones that come in NP3??

    Do you ever share any of your Fav that you make yourself?

    Could you give me a little more detail on how, if I ever wanted to, I could use my MbM open eyes??? I read your little blurb on it here but did not really understand how to do it.. Do I just cut 2 pieces of white paper to fit in the eye holes in from of my eyes between my eyes and the lights and then I can do open eye? When you say Open eye is only good for specific range, what does this mean?

    Sorry for all my questions..

    • CraigT  On November 16, 2011 at 7:32 am

      Hi Rodney,

      Great to hear you’re enjoying the mBm.

      Audiostrobe CDs are totally a matter of taste. The sampler that comes with the mBm gives a good indication of what most are like – generally fairly innocuous “new-agey” style, often with a nature theme. I have no particular favourites, mainly because I’m not particularly fond of the genre.

      The sessions included with NP3 are different to the AS CDs in that they target particular psychactive effects. They are all simple but apply best practice to the stated intent. NP3 makes it easy to create sessions adding light control to your own music.

      Having found that they have little general appeal I no longer make available the material that I have developed myself.

      Placing any diffuser between the LEDs and the eyes makes the mBm a decent open-eye experience. A couple of layers of ordinary white paper cut to size to tuck under the rubber light shield works well. Open eye is only effective above 10Hz. 10Hz is a frequency produced by the brain automatically when you blink, marking the transition to the natural brain states that occur when your eyes are closed, i.e. rest, relaxation, sleep. If you’re just enjoying the patterns open-eye is just fine at any frequency.

      Cheers,
      Craig

  • mp3 rocket  On July 26, 2012 at 10:36 am

    Its such as you learn my mind! You appear to grasp so much approximately this, such as you wrote the guide in it or something. I believe that you just can do with some % to drive the message house a bit, however instead of that, this is wonderful blog. A great read. I’ll definitely be back.

  • Chris B.  On January 7, 2013 at 11:09 am

    There’s a new all-in-one unit called the Psio Mind Booster Audio Visual Stimulation Glasses that I’m interested in. It seems to feature multi colored glasses with a mp3 player-like device set on the side and attached ear buds. There’s some very brief demo videos you can find on YouTube for it, but other than that there is little to none info. I can find on the internet for the device. Anyone know something about this machine?

    • CraigT  On January 7, 2013 at 2:49 pm

      Hi Chris,

      I have had a few enquiries about this device. I recently emailed them regarding a review unit and have thus far heard nothing from them.

      Anyone out there met one in person?

      Cheers,
      Craig

  • Chris B.  On January 12, 2013 at 1:31 pm

    I took a risk and bought the Psio. I have to say that the visual element of the machine is nothing short of amazing. The colors are very rich and beautifully bright with the leds placed in the peripherals of the glasses (really more of an eyeshield type design) so you could use it with eyes open. The rich colors definitely got my mind fired up. The downside of the Psio is that the preloaded programs are kind of boring in my opinion, just more or less upbeat music like jazz and euro-trance type stuff. There is also a voice aided meditation program called “Joy Of Life,” but no straight binaural or isotonic tone programs of any kind which I think a more serious mind machine would provide for it’s user. The Psio does have a nice supportive website called “psioplanet.com” where you can register you’re unit, read the online manual, download more program sessions and learn about it’s history; however the Psio doesn’t appear to support the ability to write you’re own light and sound programs. To sum up I think the Psio could made better if it was in the hands of a solid company such as MindPlace who design serious mind machines, but if you’re just looking for a visually entertaining relaxation device to help unwind I believe the Psio will deliver. I think they do have a booth at the consumer electronics show in Vegas this week so maybe more folks in the US will get exposure to this machine in that way. Thanks, Chris B.

    • CraigT  On January 12, 2013 at 2:54 pm

      Hi Chris,

      Thank you for the mini-review – most valuable.

      Cheers,
      Craig

  • Kelsey  On February 9, 2013 at 6:21 am

    Craig,

    Have you tried the PSiO Mind Booster 1.1 yet? If you have what do you think? If not the website is http://www.psiousa.com, please let me know if you would like to try one. I think you will find that it is unlike anything else on the market today.

    Kelsey

    • CraigT  On February 9, 2013 at 7:51 am

      Hi Kelsey,

      The Psio is mentioned here https://craigtavs.wordpress.com/2013/01/12/scraps/ and there’s a link at the bottom to a reader’s comments.

      I am expecting a Psio for review soon. I’m not quite sure what “soon” means.

      Cheers,
      Craig

      • PSiO USA  On February 9, 2013 at 8:36 am

        Craig,

        Who did you talk to about the sample?

        Thank you,

        Kelsey Butler CNHP, VBP

        PSiO USA

        (909) 615-5603

        http://www.psiousa.com

        psiousa@gmail.com

        http://www.facebook.com/psiousa

        http://www.twitter.com/psiousa

        Check out our YouTube videos

        Description : C:\Users\User01\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Outlook\963ERGHF\PSiO-horizon.jpg

      • CraigT  On February 9, 2013 at 9:00 am

        Initially I attempted contact via Europe.

        The sample I will be reviewing is expected from an independent source. I would be happy to review based on the more usual case of a manufacturer provided unit.

        You are welcome to email me at craigtavs.wordpress.com

        Cheers,
        Craig

  • mbm audiostrobe  On December 14, 2013 at 9:15 pm

    Tremendous issues here. I’m very glad to peer your post.

    Thanks so much and I am looking forward to touch you.
    Will you please drop me a mail?

    • CraigT  On December 15, 2013 at 9:25 am

      Thank you.

Trackbacks

  • By Scraps « CraigT AVS on January 12, 2013 at 2:57 pm

    […] P.S. You will find a reader’s comments on the Psio here. […]

Leave a Reply

