AVS: What is it good for?

I’ve been looking back over my posts and I realise that I have sorted AVS applications into a number of categories – most fundamantally therapeutic, recreational and exploratory. I have allowed exploration of “altered states” to remain mystical and mysterious, an uncharted mindscape. This is not a correct representation. AVS has only one function – to induce or facilitate a change in brain activity, an alteration of state, be it from sad to happy, unfocused to focused, anxious to calm, awake to asleep, pained to pain free, unenlightened to enlightened or whatever.

AVS is not a strong stimulus. It is a supportive technology. It will not overcome resistance. It will only bring about results if the subject actively desires the outcome. It will not assist a seeker unless the seeker knows what he seeks. The minimum requirement for a successful outcome with AVS is submission – the slightest inclination towards a state other than that which is sought will dominate.

AVS works best if you believe it will work for you. It works best if you believe you are deficient in the area of promised reward. AVS is more than placebo, but it will not work unless the strategy appeals to and engages the user.

These are the characteristics that make AVS the adventure it is. By the results of its use the mind can be mapped. The nature of the individual is revealed by what programs are chosen and the perceived outcomes.

I’ve shared AVS with many people. Very few, mostly those who have already made progress by other means, have found in AVS what I have found.

Cheers,
Craig

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Raustin  On June 14, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    Hi, Craig–

    Great to see you posting on this subject again! You’ve written, in your blogs of the past two or three years, the most thoughtful and introspective commentary on the topic, and my personal opinion is that you’ve summarized things very neatly in this post.

    Cheers,

    Robert

    • CraigT  On June 25, 2011 at 3:57 pm

      Hi Robert,

      Thank you.

      I have another visual stimulation method that I’ll discuss with you soon.

      Cheers,
      Craig

  • Marcia  On June 19, 2011 at 7:32 am

    Hi!

    Thanks for all your posts. I recently purchase the procyon and love all the colors coming through. I was wondering about the laxman, if I could get even a better experience with it.
    I inquired about buying the googles that come with the laxman, and was informed that they were having alot of problems with the laxman. I wanted to get someone else’s opionion about it if they had problems.

    Thanks,

    Marcia

  • CraigT  On June 19, 2011 at 8:00 am

    Hi Marcia,

    The Laxman’s strength is open eye visuals – it is a beautiful recreational machine with good relaxation capabilities. It is also that little bit more stand-alone as it is based on an internal MP3 player. The Procyon has much more sophisticated light control and audio synthesis – it is all round the more capable machine.

    The Laxman goggles can be purchased separately and used with the Procyon to gain much of the Laxman’s visual characteristic.

    There were some problems with the connection between sides of Laxman goggles – I’m not aware of any fix other than being aware that the goggles must not be bent or twisted.

    Cheers,
    Craig

  • John Sprock  On June 25, 2011 at 3:38 am

    Hi Craig,

    Thank you for all of the helpful advice and honest reviews. You have made the process much easier and I appreciate your time.

    I’m planning on getting a Procyon Rev 3. I was wondering though if you know of any iPhone AVS Adapters similar to http://www.hmb-tec.de/HMB-TEC/AVS.html (you can’t actually buy this on their site). Supposedly, this AVS Adapter can play AudioStrobe files and it uses a TRRS adapter so I could use the Procyon glasses with my Bose headphones.

    Any though or ideas on a similar iPhone set up? It’s not so much about cost as it is portability. I take my iPhone and headphones everywhere so it would be less to manage if I only need the glasses and that small AVS adapter.

    Thanks,
    John

    • CraigT  On June 25, 2011 at 9:12 am

      Hi John,

      When I was actively involved in the hardware there were no miniature audiostrobe-type decoders available, so I expect the HMB TEC may be the first on the market.

      Have you emailed HMB?

      It appears that they are supplying MindPlace glasses, so you may find something useful on their support forum.

      You can, of course, use the Procyon with the iPod/iPhone – using the Procyon’s auxilliary input and AS mode.

      Cheers,
      Craig

      • sprock  On June 25, 2011 at 11:00 am

        Hi Craig,

        Yes, I contacted them. It won’t be ready until September.

        So basically with the Procyon, the unit itself will act like the adapter so I can just play music off of my iPhone, correct?

        I just ordered it so I’ll have it next week.

        Thanks again,
        John

  • CraigT  On June 25, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    Yes… just connect the audio output of the iPhone to the auxilliary input of the Procyon, select AS mode and the Procyon will display any audiostrobe embedded content. You’ll find all sorts of good information on the finer points on the MindPlace support forum.

    Cheers,
    Craig

  • Stefan  On January 29, 2013 at 8:38 am

    I just learned that if I had an older version of the procyon, I could have used my laxman goggles with it. Do you know if there is an adapter to connect the laxman goggles to a procyon 3rd rev? I use mindworkstation quite a bit and cannot stand the laxedit software. It hangs my windows 7 all the time.

    • CraigT  On January 29, 2013 at 11:14 am

      Hi Stefan,

      I don’t think there is an adapter but it would be worth checking with MindPlace. There might be something relevant in the pipeline. I haven’t had any trouble running LaxEdit although I rarely use it – mostly Mind Workstation and MuLab. Unfortunately neither helps a lot for Laxman session development.

      Cheers,
      Craig

Leave a Reply

