Driver Repair/Update Software

As you’re aware from previous posts, I have  Toshiba Qosmio F60 that has a number of less than well-mannered behaviours.

After Googling a couple of zillion variants on the symptoms, I became aware that there is a plethora of utilities claiming to end all driver woes. After very little consideration, I decided to give Pareto Logic’s DriverCure a go.

Well, at least it didn’t do any great harm, as told in some tales, but it certainly didn’t do any good. I would almost venture that it tells untruths about what’s installed and whether it’s up to date.

After reinstalling a few original drivers to sort out some minor new problems, I have removed DriverCure and requested a refund. For me, a reliable money-back guarantee is a cure for many ills – simple fact is that persuading software and hardware to play together nicely is not always easy, so I don’t get too bent out of shape if a piece of special-purpose software doesn’t do it for me (Microsoft and Adobe are granted no such tolerance!!!). I’ll let you know if the refund doesn’t happen in a timely fashion.

Once the machine was back in its pre-Pareto state, I proceeded to investigate this class of software further. I found that whenever you search for drivers, you will be offered any number of confusingly similar programs, many of which tie back to a crowd called RevenueWire – an affiliate marketing system. As far as I can tell, they’ve got swarms of almost identical, rebranded products of highly dubious usefulness that they market by means of 75% affiliate commissions. There are, of course. any number of anti-malware, system speed-up and general PC health utilities under the same umbrella.

Just right now I’m not going to make any grand proclamations about scam or fraud, or even suggest that the programs don’t work, but I’m quite comfortable that what we have here is a genre well deserving of the title “CrapWare” and if the worst comes to the worst, I will consider US$29.95 a price worth paying to save me ever again considering these hard-sell, low-cost packages.

Cheers,
Craig

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

