The value of being specific…

As I sat down this afternoon, I decided to leave myself out of the session and play one of the NP3 sessions, Daydream Meditation(Alternating) to be precise. I had no idea what I last had connected to NP3, so I ran the AS Configuration Wizard – glad I did or the visuals would have been very choppy.

When I enter a session, I do so with what I think may be a very important factor in the perceived effectiveness of a session (or anything, for that matter). I have a whole bunch of prior experiences similar to what I’m wanting during the session.

If I want my stream of thought to go a certain way, then I can recall the last time it went a similar way, and have expectations based on past events.

The most obviously difficult expectation is to “meditate” if you haven’t formed a reasonable conception of what “to meditate” will feel like to you. Acquiring the language to describe the thing you want, associating more and more of the words with personal experience, forming a network, between the known nodes of which the unknown can be better estimated, is the process of learning. My beliefs include a clause usually paraphrased as, “when you stop learning you await death.” I am tempted to be seduced by my present experience of meditation, but I know I would be disappointed if I stopped looking for other “places” I haven’t been. The Universes accessible are spectacular, whether you view them as internal, external or a bit of both matters not at all, as the appearance is the same.

So, I have the luxury of a reliable itinerary on my AVS jaunts. It all started when all I wanted was to not be depressed. At that point I was officially depressed, in full agreement, medicated, “okay”. But I just wasn’t feeling the love. I could get by, but it was going to be a pretty bland existence. AVS was it. I chanced upon NeuroProgrammer 2 whilst searching for the perfect description of my flavour of depression. AVS and I are made for each other. With the clear intent of not being depressed and an understanding of basic cognitive/behavioural techniques, the clarity and freedom of alpha and theta thought patterns, it didn’t take too long to figure out why I was depressed. Dealt with it. Now I get to find new things to be anxious or depressed about (not too difficult, things as they are, and all that).

Now I get to go into a session with “something” that is causing me problems. More often than not, I come out with another little piece of the puzzle as to why something of significance to no-one but me affects my feelings and emotions so strongly.

I’ve also had the luxury of EEG. I can accurately correlate what I recall of a session with the EEG recording. I’ve seen my own alpha patterns, and I have a pretty good idea of what type of thought I was doing at the time.

Time. The great limiting factor. It makes lucky-dip sessions a luxury, a treat. Fact is that I have to either be working on a session or committing to a session because I need a particular state to deal with something more effectively.

Developing the language to describe the image of your objective is essential. Language is among the most important indicators of advancement – the more precisely defined the language, the more learned. Without the language, you’re limited to “lucky-dip” sessions, where you throw yourself into a range of stimulus and “see what happens”. Like I said before, a luxury when the work is done. “Lucky-dip” sessions can make for some pretty ragged experiences if you’ve got a typical past not fully dealt with. Far better to go in with one set of imagery in place and one suitable “indicator of success” predefined. Language allows the most intricate concepts to be recalled at a word.

I find this to be true in the real world too. If I am clear in expressing my intent and desire, then I seem to have a much better chance of getting what I want, first time round.

There’s a whole other rant about “trust” and “that goes without saying” that hooks in here very nicely, but I’ll defer that one for another day.

Cheers,
Craig

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

