Meditation

Does AVS work? Yes, it most certainly does.

Here I am working on a session I’m developing for one of my clients. I’ve just been tweaking one of the tone tracks that overlap to form a drumbeat, and the section of track I’ve been auditioning is a stepped transition from 8Hz to 6Hz via 4Hz, and it’s not been easy to keep pulling myself back to the job.

This is all sitting in front of a pair of mini studio monitors with the glasses sitting on the other side of the desk. Admittedly, I’ve got the speakers and my seating position arranged to form an equilateral triangle. I have no idea whether that’s a good thing or a bad thing from an audiophile’s point of view, but it is the most spectacular placement for AVS.

At the apex of that magic triangle you can move your head a few millimetres in any direction and notice phase shifts and interference patterns in the sound. You can change the sensed location of a binaural beat. You can add your own movement to the sound by swaying or nodding gently. You can practice strict asana by attempting to maintain a constant sound.

That is what led to me finding myself coming back late from a break. About ten minutes of the session had passed and I had been gone for an indefinite time.  As I recomposed myself, I had one of those “surely this isn’t news?” moments. I just clicked that the simplest definition of meditation is to slow time.

With eyes open, you can pretty much count “moments” by the blink rate – there seems to be something significant about the 10Hz blink response and scrubbing working memory to move onto the next thing. I’m here defining a “moment” as the time given to focusing on a single object or concept.

Closing eyes and seeking a meditative state, I have noticed that I can spend longer on a single point while responding to lower frequencies. I also have the sense of thoroughness when I allow slow wave processing to occur.

When closed-eyed and engaged in purely internal processes, it is possible to slow the clock rate to allow time for all of the associations and correspondences from the most obscure memories can come to bear on the point. In principle it is a matter of, ask question, wait a suitable time, expect answer to be there and only then move onto the next question.

Of course, all the preceding comes with the disclaimer that I am developing my own model to describe mental processes in a way that facilitates AVS session design. The extent to which it conforms to any recognised model, or actual anatomy, is only sufficient for me to be satisfied that it is a possible description. I really hope I haven’t overlooked anything too obvious, and I would very much appreciate any better information.

Cheers,
Craig

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

