Everyone is entitled to their opinion.

I’m going to try to keep this one really short.

I’m bothered that I am seeing things I’ve said here, there and everywhere, over a period of time that has been my learning curve thus far. Things are being repeated without acknowledgement of source, and frequently as if they are such an accepted fact that they can be offered a priori.

There is very little information in the AVS entrainment field that can be offered with that level of authority.

I’m bothered that I seem to be able to post conclusions that I haven’t seen presented anywhere else, without any affirmation or refutation. Does this mean that everyone is repeating my experiments and confirming them so completely, and finding my accounts so comprehensive that no further comment is justified? Does this mean that everyone is satisfied that I am a) telling the truth, and that b) my methods are sufficiently satisfactory that my statements can be taken without verification? Does it mean that I’m being allowed to spout nonsense under the “everyone is entitled to an opinion” clause. I think it’s not the latter, because I’ve looked at other blogs and forums and no-one gets away with talking too much smack without getting their come-uppance.

Anyway. From the blog stats I would guestimate that I have 80 regular readers, individuals who have given some time to following  my account from the beginning. For the benefit of those coming in more recently as AVS enthusiasts, I would appreciate it if you would, through your comments to this post, indicate how entitled you believe I am to my opinions in this field, and in so doing, consider the qualifications and experience you bring to bear in creating your opinion of mine.

My thanks to the three or four of you who do regularly challenge me.

Cheers,
Craig

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dave siever  On January 9, 2010 at 8:14 am

    Hi Craig,
    I understand your frustration. I am Dave siever with Mind Alive Inc. Me and my Company have spent roughly $250,000 on AVE, AVS research over the past 20 years. My AVE/AVS research is published 6 times in Biofeedback, Neuroconnections, The Handbook of Neurofeedback (chapter) and in Quantitative EEG and Neurofeedback 2nd Edition (chapter) and 2 studies in the Journal of Neurotherapy. I lecture at the Assn for Applied Psychophysiology and Biofeedback (aapb.org) plus the Intl Society for Neurofeedback and Research (isnr.org) and the American Council for the Advancement of Medicine (acam.org). Our studies include seasonal affective disorder, ADD/ADHD, seniors with depression & risk of falling, reducing anxiety, improving college GPA, reducing worry in college students, pain reduction. I see my articles posted on all kinds of websites selling other products, primarly binaural beats, that clearly do NOT work.

    Best of 2010,

    dave siever

    • CraigT  On January 9, 2010 at 8:33 am

      Hi Dave,
      What a pleasure to have you stop by!
      It must be particularly annoying given the extent of your investment – at this stage all I suffer is a little embarrassment.
      I have a very short list of researchers/developers/authors to whom I look for good information – your name is right up there – as evidenced by the fact that your company is one of only four to which I provide front-page links.
      Your early encouragement played a big part in getting this blog off the ground. I have hoped that you might be keeping a quiet eye out.
      A great 2010 for you too, and do feel free to drop in any time.
      Cheers,
      Craig

Leave a Reply

