EEG? EMG? Iris Muscles?

Saturday morning. Time for a nice lie in. Instead of leaping into a beta wake-up, I decided to spend some time in la-la-land with a deep theta session. I love the way the new NP3 sessions sound.

As I lay there blissing out, my faithful Procyon providing the AS lightshow, I realised that even when my eyes are quite still, the brightness comfortable, I can feel my eyes quivering. What is the iris response time and can it be measured?

Abort deep theta. Hook up EEG. Two channels, channel one on left side of forehead, below hairline, channel two in corner of right eye. Alter BioExplorer gains and filters to get a good picture from each electrode (much more activity at eye than forehead).

Restart deep theta, lay back and relax.

The two outputs were surprisingly similar, except the eye signal was three-four times the amplitude. Substantial 10Hz activity, plus a weaker signal that closely followed the session frequencies. The eye signal was much more stable and consistent.

Okay, so there’s brain just below the surface pretty well anywhere on the head, but that doesn’t adequately explain the high amplitude of signals near the eye. I’d love to hear from anyone else who can try these measurements to see what they make of them. My impression is that the auto-iris function of the eye is doing its utmost to adjust to the constantly changing light level, with measurable EMG activity closely corresponding to the stimulus.

I will, of course, be investigating this further, but it provides an interesting challenge in assessing brain rhythm significance.

Cheers,
Craig

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • jc  On November 28, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    Hey Craig,

    I would agree with your conclusion, and while not exactly the feedback you are asking for, read on, I believe it is related… let me explain.

    I’ve noticed some astigmatism since I was a teenager, but now at 60 my vision is much better than ever & definitely better than two years ago! Clear, sharp focus, no astigmatism noticed, even while driving at night & reading the road signs! Why?

    My only explanation points to the use of the visual part of AVS (through Procyon). It’s possible that my “brains” are rewiring themselves, but I can really sense my eye balls “exercising”, especially around the Alpha band & above. And like any muscle that stops exercising, I have also observed that if I let too many days pass in-between sessions, I start noticing a decrease in the quality of my vision.

    My vision is not a perfect 20/20, but needless to say, I have put my plan to get prescription glasses on hold for the past year until I “see” more precisely where AVS usage is taking me!

    BTW, relating to another blog entry of yours regarding the use of “random-AS-frequencies & staccato music, I have noticed that sudden sounds will definitely affect my eyes. I can sense it & I also notice a change in the visuals produced by the AVS session playing at that time.

    ps I have procured from Anna Wise a Mind Mirror 4 “package” (ProComp2 with BioGraph Infinity Software plus the MindMirror Software add-on)… and plan to make good use of it for the first time, as soon as I can free-up some of that precious time from other ongoing projects… will keep you posted.

  • CraigT  On November 29, 2009 at 7:38 am

    That’s really interesting, jc. I would argue that both my sight and hearing have improved since using AVS, particularly the rapid impulse type stuff. My near vision hasn’t deteriorated as quickly as it had been (I’ve been able to defer a new glasses prescritpion) and my distant vision has actually improved. The muscles exercise theory makes perfect sense to me. I was pleased to learn about the little muscle in the ear that adjusts sensitivity to protect the inner ear from damaging sound levels – it seems to be working well.
    I haven’t been able to find anything much about the V4 Mind Mirror, but assuming it follows in the tradition of the V3, it sounds like a fascinating instrument – I’ll be most interested to hear what sort of results you get, whether analog filtering really does make such a difference vs digital filtering.
    Have fun!
    Cheers,
    Craig

Leave a Reply

