Where do you go when you “meditate”?

“Meditation” is another of the words I have problems with. I have absolutely no idea what it means. Well, I have lots of “ideas”, ideas expressed by others, strings of words that describe things I may or may not have experienced.

May or may not have experienced? There’s two ways in which I may not have experienced what another person describes as something they have experienced. The first is simply that my head may have never done what their head did. The other is that it did exactly what theirs did, but I perceived it differently.

I wrote an MWS session a couple of weeks ago. It’s the best interpretation of exactly what I wanted that I could accomplish in MWS. I’ve been using it at least once a day since, and it has facilitated ?????. There isn’t a word that embraces what happens for me 20 minutes or so into the session. There could be pages and pages of metaphors and vague descriptions, calls upon the pseudo-language of new-age mysticism, but no matter what I said I would always be failing completely to tell you anything useful.

This, I suspect, is why one traditionally learns meditation under the guidance of a master, to prevent self-delusion and to recognise the signs of change that will naturally occur when the innermost vaults of the mind are unlocked.

I was very fortunate to have such a master for a brief period of time. It saddens me greatly that it was in big part my ego that caused us to part ways. I’m not at all sure what it is that has me unsettled, but I’m feeling the need again for mentorship. There’s things I think I know that I kind of feel I’m not meant to know, and furthermore, I’ve no way at my disposal to differentiate these thoughts from fantasy, they reside so far beyond the reaches of my book lernin’.

It’s strange to think of the countless individuals, engaged in their own search for truth, arriving at a place where they uncover something shiny, and then having to wonder, “Is it gold, or merely pyrite?” And then there’s the internal dialogue, questioning the wisdom attributed to Lincoln, “‘Tis better to be silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.”

Cheers,
Craig

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Sony Chauhan  On July 22, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    Meditation is an over used term. It can be a guided meditation, a reflection or deep contemplation of something, breathing techniques and so on.

    To me a person once described this as making the space between thoughts wider, I think that is a simple way of saying it.

    How do you describe meditation. Well as you pointed out this cannot be described as it is an absense of thoughts.

    True meditation is I believe the conscious control of your thoughts.

    • craigtavs  On July 23, 2009 at 6:40 pm

      “Making the space between thoughts wider”? Or maybe removing the interruptions between thoughts? And herein is the joy of discussing such things, we’re each precisely as right as our own experience reveals.
      Thanks for stopping in, Sony.
      Cheers,
      Craig

  • jc  On July 23, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    Where do I go when I meditate?
    Where does “I” go when I meditate?
    Where do I go when “I” meditates?
    Who or what is this “I”, or these “I”s the question refers to?
    What is happening when I engage in this activity I call meditation?
    What do I observe?
    What state do I start from?
    What happens during and immediately after that single interval of time?
    What do I notice when I go through long periods of time when I meditate regularly?
    What do I notice when I go through periods of time when I do not engage in this activity I call meditation?
    One thing I know for sure is that my day is different when I engage in this open ended activity I call meditation.

    • craigtavs  On July 23, 2009 at 6:37 pm

      Well, jc, I don’t know whether your whats and wheres look, feel, sound, taste and smell the same as mine, but you’re asking the same questions, and taking “different” to be a good thing, we’re going forward on much the same basis.

  • Marion  On July 23, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    Meditation to me is firstly a focus of the mind and if this can be achieved and mastered an awarness state arises which is quite subtle but allows you to observe thoughts without identifying with them and following their trail.

    I dont think the mind is ever thought free whilst their is still life but practiced meditation allows you to lower the activity between the ears and this in turn seems to make thought more intelligent. Its like fine tuning an instrument or learning to drive in third or fourth gear rather than first all the time.

    Meditation is about allowing life to unfold inside and out, its healthy, intelligent and the more people who do it the more peaceful the world will be!

    • craigtavs  On July 24, 2009 at 7:23 am

      Hi Marion, thanks for visiting.
      You make a good point – for anyone wondering what they can do to make the world a better place, meditation/quiet time is definitely a good place to start.
      Cheers,
      Craig

Leave a Reply

